America's Cup Sailing

Newport, RI

Item #: CRU-RDI-0006
From: $105
Option & Pricing:

Buy now and choose a date & time later.

Please select an option above.

Instant eVoucher Delivery (Sample)

30 Days Returns on eVouchers

No Expiration Dates

Easy Exchange

Overview

You've watched these magnificent, high-tech boats race for sailing's ultimate prize- the America's Cup. Now feel the thrill and excitement of America's Cup Sailing aboard a 12-Meter yacht yourself. This is one of the best Newport sailing tours in the area.

  • This America's Cup 12 Meter Yacht is U.S. Coast Guard certified and meticulously maintained to reflect its prestigious America's Cup history
  • Among the fastest mono-hull sailing vessels in the world
  • 2-hour cruise combines the history of Newport, Rhode Island with the unparalleled experience of sailing on an America's Cup contender
Newport, Rhode Island
When Do I Choose A Date?
If giving as a gift, your recipient can choose a date at their convenience; otherwise, you can choose one after checkout.

May through mid-October:
Select Dates & Times

 

Essential Information
  • Crew gratuity is not included but appreciated.
  • Guests should be in good physical condition and be able to embark and disembark the vessel to participate.
Duration
2 hours
Experience Provider Info
Complete information for your Experience Provider, including contact information, will be included on your booking confirmation email once you or your gift recipient have scheduled the experience. Our Product Management team handpicks top-rated experience providers, removing the guesswork for you and ensuring your peace of mind.
Maximum Participants
Up to 15 guests per boat.
Spectators
This experience is only for those on the cruise.
Weather Dependent
Sails depart rain or shine unless dangerous conditions exist and the captain deems the conditions to be unsafe for sailing. If the experience is cancelled due to inclement weather, you will be able to reschedule to another date. Always contact the Experience provider with any questions regarding weather conditions.
What To Wear
Wear tennis shoes or boat shoes and bring a windbreaker or sweatshirt for comfort.
Can I assist the crew with sailing the boat?
Yes!  You'll have the option to assist the captain and crew with sailing this amazing vessel.  Alternatively, if you'd rather sit back and relax you're certainly free to do just that.  It's up to you!

Returns
Experience Vouchers that have not been redeemed can be returned hassle-free within 30 days. All refunds will be made to the original purchaser.
Exchanges
Experience Vouchers that have not been redeemed can be exchanged for anything else in our marketplace at any time.  If you choose to exchange for an experience that costs more, you'll simply have to pay the difference. If you choose to exchange for an experience that costs less, you'll have a credit towards your next booking with Virgin Experience Gifts.

Cancellation Policy

Once you have received a booking confirmation, all bookings are final. No cancellations or rescheduling requests will be allowed. Failure to appear on your booked date or to cancel prior to your booked date will result in the loss of the value of your experience.

Other Rhode Island Experiences

Customer Reviews

This experience has a customer rating of 4.5
based on 10 reviews.
I scheduled the trip twice. The first time, I was notified the DAY BEFORE that space was not available. So, I rescheduled, received a confirmation e-mail and reminder e-mail, arrived at the designated time and place...and NO ONE showed up!!! I called the phone number given and was told that the trip was cancelled...but I was NEVER NOTIFIED of the cancellation either by phone or e-mail. With the travel and waiting, we had wasted 3 hours of our time. We were offered to reschedule for a third time. I declined and demanded a full refund. This is very unprofessional. It appears that Virgin offers an interesting trip, but is HIGHLY DISORGANIZED.
Response from Virgin Experience Gifts
Hello Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am very sorry that your date was not available initially, but that we were later able to schedule you for a new date. I am very sorry that no one showed up on your scheduled date. This is not our partners standards and I am truly sorry that you were not able to get out on your experience. Our partner is very sorry that you were not notified of the cancellation as they always try to be as on top of everything as possible. I can understand that your time was wasted and since you were never able to reschedule you were not able to get out on this experience in the hopes our partners could improve your experience. I have personally connected with you and hope to help make this right for you! Regards, Brooke
It was a great time. Duncan was fantastic with all his knowledge
Response from Virgin Experience Gifts
Glad to hear you had a fun time aboard the 12-Meter Yacht! I'll be sure to let Duncan know. Thanks for sharing!  Best, ​Brooke
The views were terrific and sailing on a 12 meter yacht was awesome. The crew did an exceptional job to keep everyone engaged in a great experience.
Response from Virgin Experience Gifts
The 12 meter yacht is truly a unique experience. I'm so happy to hear you loved it! We love working with our crew too. Thanks for the review. Best, Brooke
My husband and I were given the gift of a 2-hour sail on a 12-meter yacht in Newport, RI. The booking experience was excellent -- very clear and concise. We were met at the stated time and place on the day of our sail by a very friendly representative, Meredith, who saw us safely onto the launch, then met us at the dock on our return. The sail itself was incredible. We sailed on Heritage, with Captain Duncan and crew (Tom and Chrissy). They were all friendly and helpful, and the captain pointed out areas of interest on shore and offered up some local history as well as history of 12-meter racing and our specific boat. We were encouraged to help with hoisting sails if we wanted to participate, and several people took a turn at the helm under Duncan's watchful eye. The sail was a full 2 hours, in awesome conditions. All in all it was a fantastic experience!
We have been on 2 adventures with Cloud 9 and both have been wonderful. We have had a lot of fun and done things we would never have thought of doing. Thanks!
View More Reviews:

How It Works...

Choose from 4,200 Experiences

1

Choose from
4,200+ Experiences
E-Voucher Delivered Instantly

2

E-Voucher
Delivered Instantly
Your Recipient Books Their Experience

3

Your Recipient Books
Their Experience
Create unforgettable memories

4

Create unforgettable
memories!